NYC vs. OKC

Today I received my very first manicure. To be specific, I got a manicure, pedicure and a decent shoulder massage for exactly $23.

Only hours before I facilitated a webinar about the plight of food workers, the people who pick our tomatoes and baby our carrots for below-poverty wages.

Of all the things that are more expensive in New York City (my rent is exactly double the price for half the space), services that involve mostly immigrant labor are cheap. Nails. Car detailing. Delivery of everything from wontons to dog food. I’m curious what accounts for the disparities between OKC and NYC in this regard. I never thought of Oklahoma as a place with a shortage of immigrants, but I guess nowhere can compare to New York. I’m going to resolve to be a better tipper. And get more pedicures.

Leave a Reply

