NYC vs. OKC, part 2

Everyone at home always wants to know what it’s like to live in New York City, and I never know what to tell them. Mostly, it is like living in Oklahoma City, but without a backyard. I walk more. I have a lot of things delivered, which makes random days every week feel a little like Christmas. I work from home, so no matter where I live, most of my days are contained in a 10 block radius. So on a good day, living in New York City feels like this:

Now let’s take a look at a good day in Oklahoma City:

Everything is the same, but with uglier clothes. That’s what it’s like to live in Oklahoma City.  But in Oklahoma City, we had a yard, so this happened a lot, too:

But every now and then there’s a really good moment, and I make a special note to remember it so I will have something to say next time I go home. Yesterday was one of those days. After having a really nice night and a few drinks with friends (pickle shots? yes!), we had to make our way home in the rain. Except I should note that it doesn’t really rain here, not really. It rains all the time, but at half velocity. So we are standing on the corner of Canal Street, and we can’t get a cab to stop. All of a sudden, Jeff grabs my hand and we run across the street toward the subway, but everything is all sloshy, and halfway there Jeff yells, “Arrrhhhh! Dead pigeon!” And I thought, “Yes! Yes! This is what it feels like to live in New York City.”

2 thoughts on “NYC vs. OKC, part 2

  1. This sounds fantastic!
    I need to know more about these pickle shots: pickle juice? Alcohol in a hollowed-out pickle? Did you get drunk? If you get drunk with your NYC friends I’m going to be so pissed.

  2. Pingback: “Nothing new” |

Leave a Reply

