The Moth, take two

941811_10153399395600384_564806867_n

Remember when I told a story at The Moth last year? Well, I did it again last week, except this time I WON!

I know that a lot of people don’t like public speaking in general, and that the idea of telling a personal story without notes while people judge you is the stuff of nightmares. Except for me, it’s not. I don’t know exactly how to explain it, but both times I told a story at The Moth, it was sort of the opposite of an out-of-body experience – I was fully present, grounded and in control.

The experience of doing it and doing it well was far better than the winning itself. Telling yourself “I’m going to do this thing that I’m not at all sure I can do,” and then you do the thing better than you had even hoped … I’ll just say it is a rare pleasure that I want another taste of.

Leave a Reply

